Thoughts

I’ve been reflecting on many things lately…my disability, life, my dreams, the future and the people in my life. This doesn’t just go for people with disabilities, especially those with visual impairments, it goes for everyone. I’ve encountered many people in my life that have said ‘you won’t achieve that, you’re sight impaired/blind’ or whatever you want to say. I’ve also felt isolated before, at school it was always “who wants to hang around with the blind girl?” but now I have people in my life that love me for who I am, despite my disability. Just because I’ve got a disability why should I not be able to have a go at something? I’m going to face challenges in my life, but everyone does right?
One thing that amazes me is people are so scared to try things because of their disability, scared to do the every day things that everyone does but honestly, don’t let your disability stop you. Don’t let your disability define you and shatter your hopes and dreams.
I’m far from confident myself but I want to become a teacher and I’m determined to achieve my goal. So for anyone that’s in doubt, don’t let your disability be a barrier.
“Just be true to who you are”
“If you want to be a writer, go out and be a writer!”
“Those who mind don’t matter, those who matter don’t mind”
Those are a couple of quotes from my favourite singer, I feel her music really reflects what I’m trying to say, it basically reflects my life and it has honestly helped me.
I could write so much and it probably wouldn’t make sense, but what I’m trying to say is don’t let your disability determine your future, you’re so much better than that.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts

  1. Hi, Holly. I think it’s great that you’re so positive and determined. I’m willing to bet, if you haven’t already, you will start to see your self-esteem catch up to your successes. It’s very inspiring to see two young women like you and Elin speak your truth and tell your stories. That in itself is a big accomplishment because it’s never easy. I’m 43 and, sometimes it still scares me to tell people about my hearing problem. I don’t know what it’s like to have normal hearing. I shied away from conversations and, in school I prayed that the teachers wouldn’t call on me. If I sat near the front of the class to hear better, I was teased for being a “teacher’s pet”.
    I’ve only just started reading your blogs but you and Elin are beautiful examples of not letting your disabilities limit you or define you. That you can accomplish anything as well as, if not better than, someone who has no disabilities. Our biggest limitations are in our minds. Keep on shining. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, that really means a lot. Receiving comments like this make it all worth it! I know it can be hard but well done to you for starting to tell people, be proud of yourself! Thank you again ☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

