Bandits

band itsHello everyone and welcome back to Life of a Blind Girl.

Today I’d like to tell you about an amazing product that’s especially been designed for the blind and visually impaired and it’s called Band-Its. Well let me tell you about the product!

 

Band-it’s are tactile, different coloured bands that can be put round products, for example cans of food, bathroom products, drinks or medicine bottles. The bands are pictured above. The pictureshows the different coloured bands. For people that are visually impaired the different coloured bands help you to identify a product easily. For example, you will know that a red band will be on a tin of fruit. If you are blind then don’t worry, you can still use this product! The different tactile bands make it easier for blind people to identify the product. They can also be reused so you don’t have to keep buying a new set every time you replace an item.

 

Band-it has been designed alongside people who are visually impaired to give greater independence in the home by enabling confident identification of objects.

It enables you to quickly and easily marker everyday objects in your home to more easily identify them. Whether this is consumables in the kitchen, bathroom products or remote controls in your living room is up to you!

 

Personally I think this is a great idea and would be very useful for blind and visually impaired people like myself. I also love how the bands are reusable, meaning that you don’t have to spend lots of money on them all the time. Personally, I think I’d use them for identifying tins of food, bathroom products and possibly make-up.

 

However, this product has not yet been released, the product designer Hannah has set up a crowdfunder to raise money for the release of this product. Would my lovely readers be able to help? Please check it out and donate if you can and spread the word about this fantastic product! I am definitely supporting this product and backing Hannah all the way and I hope you do the same. It is incredible that they have been designed especially for the blind and visually impaired to live more independently.

If you’d like to find out more about the product, click here

 

I hope you enjoyed this post and I hope you support Hannah on her journey to releasing this product!

What are your opinions on Band-its, would you purchase them yourself or for someone you know? Let me know your thoughts by commenting or sending me your views!

 

Disclaimer: I am not associated with the design or the production of this product, I am simply writing a blog post to inform others. All views are my own.

 

6 thoughts on “Bandits

Leave a Reply

