April Q&A

Hi Everyone,

I’m really excited to finally be doing a Q&A on my blog! I’ve wanted to do one for a while but haven’t got round to it and I honestly thought no one would ask me questions…how awkward would that be. I’d just like to thank you all for your questions, they’re all fab and I’ve really enjoyed answering them all.

If you ever have any questions please feel free to send me them and i’ll either write you a personal response or answer them in a future Q&A.

So here is my first ever Q&A!

 

How do you avoid obstacles at head/eye level, like open cupboard doors or tree branches?

This is a really good question and I honestly had to think about this…I can sometimes see if something is there but don’t know what it is if I’m really close to them but that’s often too late! Another way I know is if something is blocking my light perception, for example if a door has been left open.

 

Do you / can you travel by yourself? What are the pros / cons?

I don’t do it as often as I should but yes I can, I went on a plane by myself last year and that really gave me a lot more confidence to travel on my own.

The pros are that it makes you more independent, you don’t have to rely on someone taking you everywhere and you have more freedom to go where you want.

I’d say the cons were that if things go wrong it can be rather scary and often tricky to solve the situation sometimes. For example, if something goes wrong whilst you are getting rail assistance it might put you off doing it in the future. Also, I’m not going to lie, it’s really scary. Sighted people can just go wherever they want to, often without any worries, that’s not always the case for us blind people.

 

Do you feel safe going out alone?

Again, I should go places by myself way more than I actually do. I do feel safe yes, especially during the day is when I feel most safe. It’s always a risk and I do get anxious when thinking about it sometimes as would anyone.

 

If you do some exercises to keep in shape, what kind do you do?

This sounds really bad but I am probably the most unfit person ever hahaha! I do go walking quite a lot so that keeps me in shape. I love swimming as well and do that whenever I can.

I’ve been on gym equipment like the treadmill, cross-trainer and an exercise bike quite a few times in my school gym when I was at school as well so you can still do things like that even if you’re blind, you just might need some assistance with certain aspects.

Check out Girl GoneBlind who is a blind fitness instructor! You can also listen to her recent podcast on RNIB Connect Radio here

 

For those with some vision: in public, do you feel like you have to be one person with a cane and another when not using it?

No not really, my disability doesn’t define me and I am a firm believer in those who mind don’t matter, those who matter don’t mind. People stare either way and that’s just the society we live in. I do feel anxious when using my cane so it does affect me in that way. Remember: your cane is just an extension of you and if it is something that helps you then don’t let anyone take that away from you or make you feel any different.

 

If you had to choose only one piece of technology for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Definitely my iPhone, then I could still have all the apps that help me on a regular basis. It is also something that sighted people have so you can feel just like everyone else.

 

What is your desired future career?

I’d like to work within an organisation for blind and visually impaired people; either a family support officer or an education support officer. I honestly just want to help other blind and visually impaired people like myself and for them to know that it isn’t a barrier no matter how hard life may seem.

 

Who are your favourite bloggers?

I’m actually in the process of writing a post telling you all about my favourite bloggers! There’s so many amazing bloggers but my top three have to be: My Blurred World Yesterdays Wishes and Sassy

 

What is the one smartphone app you couldn’t be without?

Tap Tap See, that app is a lifeline sometimes!

 

Do you use a screen-reader?

Yes, I use Apple VoiceOver and Jaws. I’ve also used NVDA and Dolphin (previously Supernova) in the past.

 

Name three VoiceOver games that you play?

I don’t play games that often but I sometimes play 94 Seconds, Audio Archery and Blindfold Pinball. There’s an extensive list on the Apple Vis website, you can find it here

 

Have you been blind all your life?

Yes I have, due to Retinopathy of Prematurity (ROP).

 

How are you always so positive? It’s so inspiring.

Thank you, that really does mean a lot. I have had my rough patches where I’ve been negative, this was when I was in sixth form at school. I was so down in the dumps and was so negative about everything but learnt a lot about staying positive from that rough patch. I finally realised that that wasn’t going to get me anywhere and I learnt to try to have a positive attitude about most things because life is not worth living feeling down and being negative all the time. I do have my down days but so does everyone else, we’re only human at the end of the day. I don’t let my disability stop me from getting to where I want to be and I do not let it define me.

 

Thank you so much for all your questions, I’ve loved doing this Q&A! If you have any in the future please send me them!

 

Until next time,

Hol x

5 thoughts on “April Q&A

  1. Amazing post as always! It was so interesting to find out more about you. Thank you for answering my questions and also thank you so much for the mention! It means a lot ❤ I love how positive you are, you're such an inspiration and you deserve so much more credit for what you do xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: My Favourite Bloggers | Just your average blind girl

Leave a Reply

