Am i Inspirational?

I’ve often been called an ‘inspiration’ and when that happens, I feel truly humbled. To be completely honest, I don’t think I am inspirational at all, I’m just an average blind girl that’s trying to get to where she wants to be in life and achieve her goals. Granted, I went through mainstream school and didn’t give up without a fight when things went wrong which they often did, but that’s just the person I am. I’m now at university but that’s because I believe having a degree will help me get to where I want to be in life and give me better opportunities of getting a good job. I didn’t go to university for sympathy from others, I went to university because I want to do well in life, I want to do my family proud.

 

I always feel really honoured when people call me inspirational because personally I think there are far more inspirational people than me. I’ve met many inspirational people and I don’t consider myself to be one of them. They’ve saved people’s lives, have a positive attitude about everything and have often achieved far more than I ever have and possibly ever will.

I know a lot of disabled people absolutely hate being called inspirational. I know quite a few disabled people that don’t understand why we’re perceived to be inspirations because we’re human, trying to live a normal life which I do completely agree with, but I guess non-disabled people will never truly understand what it’s like to have a disability. I guess they think that they couldn’t cope with it, or adapt tasks to the extent that we do. I don’t expect anyone to understand fully because they never will.

 

I’m at a point in my life where I am quite happy with the person I am, I know what I want to achieve and where I want to get to, I know my strengths and weaknesses and without sounding big headed, I would consider myself to be a good person.

I’ve done a lot of charity work and volunteering over the last few years and continue to do so, but that’s not because I want to be labelled inspirational, but because it’s something that I want to do. By doing this, I believe that I am not only gaining experience for my future career but I am also helping others. I want to help others in the same situation as me or that are facing similar struggles that I have possibly gone through because I know how hard it can be to live with a disability every single day, wondering if there will ever be a cure. I know how hard it can be when all you want is to see something but you can’t. I know how isolated you sometimes feel. I know what it’s like to constantly fight for equality.

 

I’ve been blogging for over a year now and my blog is going places I never thought it would. I’m not one of the most popular bloggers and I doubt I will ever be but it will never stop me from writing blog posts for people to read. I started blogging in the hope to raise awareness of disability and to help others that might need a bit of support. That will always be the aim of my blog. Whether I help 1 person or 200, I don’t mind. If it helps people that’s all that matters.

Blogging has also given me the chance to make new friends; some of which are blind and visually impaired like myself and I couldn’t imagine my life without them. They’ve been there for me through some hard times and I hope I’ve been there for them as well. They are truly inspirational to me. Some of them have kept me going with my blogging and supported me from the very start. I will forever be grateful.

 

If you’ve read my previous posts you’ll know that my aim was to be a teacher. However this has changed. I won’t go into detail why this is the case because this post is long enough already.

So what do you want to do now I hear you ask. When I graduate from university I hope to work in the sight loss field helping others like myself. Whether that’s for a charity or within education, I just want to help and support other blind and visually impaired people. I want them to know that having a disability doesn’t have to be a barrier if they don’t let it be one. At the end of the day, you don’t need sight to have vision.

Until I fulfil this hope of working in the sight loss field I will continue to write blog posts for you all. I feel like I have gone off on a bit of a tangent with this post but it’s come from the heart.

 

I’d just like to thank you for liking, commenting and sharing my posts – your support means the world!

Am I inspirational? I’ll let you decide!

Join me next time where I discuss more things about my life as a blind girl!

Holly x

12 thoughts on “Am i Inspirational?

  1. This is my favourite post of yours ever! !
    Okay granted I haven’t read every single one yet… But I will! This is just so beautifully written, humbling and inspiring 😉
    You’re just a normal girl, trying to live your life the way you want to! But if people think what you do, how you live, and how you cope is inspirational,I say take that Badge and wear it with pride girl! Because you deserve it!
    And the fact that you are going out of your way to help others, by writing this blog and volunteering shows that you really are a golden soul Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Everyone who has ever called you an inspiration speaks the truth Hol! You truly are inspiring and I admire you so much for writing your blog and helping others by doing so. You’re a truly amazing person and you deserve all the happiness and success in the world. You’re one of the most genuine people I’ve ever met and I’m honestly so proud of how far you’ve come. YOU ARE AN INSPIRATION AND DON’T YOU FORGET IT! ❤ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wish I could like this comment over and over again 😉 I can’t thank you enough. You’ve been there for me and helped me grow as a blogger and as a person ❤️ xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Your humbleness makes you inspirational, but kind of get that you would not want to be treated differently or called inspirational. Many sighted people just go through life with very few if any achievements, so yes you are right it is very difficult for people without disabilities to understand.
    Thank you for sharing this in #ShowcaseTuesday #linky

    Liked by 1 person

    • thank you so much! You are very welcome, thank you so much for choosing my previous post as your top post of the week 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: Showcase Tuesday Week Eleven - add your blog to link up

  5. Pingback: Two Years of Life of a Blind Girl |

  6. You write from your heart, openly and freely. I used to dislike being called inspirational. I thought, do I inspire them to have MS or to have SCI? I’ve begun to think it is a true compliment when it comes from one of our peers. Please consider yourself complimented, inspirational writer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

