Guest Post From Sophie

Hello,

here is another guest post for you all from Sophie. Please make sure you check out the project she’s doing!

 

My name is Sophie. Holly has very kindly agreed to publish one of my posts on her lovely blog.

 

I have ME/CFS, which is a chronic illness that causes, among other symptoms, severe fatigue, pain and malaise (generally feeling unwell). I developed ME/CFS gradually over a number of years and it has changed every aspect of my life.

 

Everything that I do makes me ill. I have to pay for every activity, including the mundane things that I used to take for granted like brushing my teeth. I went through a period of time when I was bedbound and unable to care for myself. Through a lot of hard work and some random improvements in my health, I am now a little better.

 

My daily activity is still very limited by ME/CFS. I can only study for a fraction of the time that I used to and I have to ration my energy. I use an electric wheelchair to get out and about. I wish I could walk further than a short distance but it just isn’t possible for me at the moment. I find my limited energy endlessly frustrating because there is so much that I want to do. However, now that my energy is limited, I spend it much more wisely.

 

Recently I have used my energy to set up “Project Let Me In!” My illness has really opened my eyes to how inaccessible lots of venues are to people with a wide range of disabilities. Project Let Me In! aims to achieve equal access for people living with disabilities one step at a time.

 

For me, the hardest aspect of living with ME/CFS is the isolation that it causes. I often can’t do the things that I would like to because venues aren’t accessible. Isolation is a problem among people living with disabilities. Everyone has the right to use public spaces. Everyone has the right to be included. Sometimes, the lack of access makes me feel as though I don’t matter. We need to work together to ask venues and councils to consider the views of people living with disabilities when making planning decisions.

 

If you would like to learn more about Project Let Me In!, visit www.project-let-me-in.blogspot.com or http://www.facebook.com/projectletmein .

 

To learn more about ME/CFS, visit www.ayme.org.uk

 

Thank you for reading 🙂

 

Thank you to Sophie for this post!

I hope you enjoyed Sophie’s post and be sure to check out Project Let Me In 🙂

4 thoughts on “Guest Post From Sophie

Leave a Reply

