RNIB Connect Magazine

Hello!

You may have seen on my twitter and facebook that I am featured in this months RNIB Connect magazine or if you’re a member of RNIB connect then you’ll have received this in your inbox!

For those of you that don’t know what the RNIB Connect magazine is, it is basically a monthly magazine that features news, events, recipes and anything to do with sight loss. As part of this magazine, there is a ‘your voice’ section where people affected by sight loss have a feature where they can talk about their story or something useful that they think might benefit others.

I was asked by one of the lovely connect ladies to  do a feature for the ‘your voice’ section about my Useful Resources For Blind And Visually Impaired People list which I continue to update!

I was really honoured to be ask to have a feature in the Connect magazine as this is something that I read myself and the your voice section in there is brilliant. I wanted to share with you all my feature so that all of my readers could check it out. Here it is :

“Holly, aged 20 from York has created a directory to help people with sight problems across the UK.

“I’m a student studying children, young people and families at York St John University. I’ve been blind since birth and my eye condition is retinopathy
of prematurity.

“I write a blog called ‘Life of a blind girl’. I recently published a post about useful resources for blind and visually impaired people.

“There is so much out there. From websites, charities and apps to equipment, technology, and other resources like Facebook groups, screen readers and magnification.

“I started this list to help people to have a platform they could access, even though they’re blind or visually impaired.

“I update the blog as often as I can, with suggestions from anyone, so please do use the contact page on my website to get in touch.”

Find out more

To visit the directory or make a suggestion, visit
http://www.lifeofablindgirl.wordpress.com

You can also listen to the unedited version of my entry here.

Feel free to follow me on audioboom, I might do future posts on there!

 

When I started blogging it never even crossed my mind that I’d be asked to be in the Connect magazine!

I wanted to share my entry with you all as I know not all of my readers are blind or visually impaired and I like to keep everyone updated on everything to do with my blog.

I hope you enjoyed my entry and my first ever audioboo!

Holly x

5 thoughts on “RNIB Connect Magazine

  1. I was so excited when I read this in the connect magazine Hol! I am so so proud of you and everything you’ve achieved. You’re an incredibly inspiring young woman (which you because I tell you all the time haha!) and your voice deserves to be heard! I hope you get even more amazing opportunities like this in the future because you truly deserve it hun xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

